‘Speak’ by Laurie Halse Anderson

Book review: a story for every generation!

Rafia Naseem
Counter Arts
5 min readAug 31, 2024

--

Photo clicked by the author

We often experience an impact from something totally unexpected, a morning walk, a cup of coffee in a café sitting all alone, or a stroll through some random book street; we observe certain things and gather certain experiences that we never have thought of but they are ‘there’ for different reasons, to excite us, teach us, or appall us even. Anderson’s Speak did the same job. I picked it up mainly because it had the badge of National Book Award Finalist and the book really justifies it.

Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Speak is a YA book that I believe is for every generation because of its compelling beautiful narrative, themes related to mental health and abuse, and the myriad of characters. There are students, teachers, and parents, and we all belong to at least one of these categories. The story is about a high schooler Melinda and starts with her first day at high school. As the book proceeds, we witness how Melinda navigates her high school journey after having a traumatic experience last summer. I don’t want to spoil the book for you because I went into it blindfolded and devoured the whole thing in one sitting.

However, I will surely focus on its narrative and prominent themes. The title plays a vital role in the narrative of the book. Throughout the novel, Melinda does not speak, the book is about her journey from ‘not speaking’ to being finally able to ‘yell out loudly’. The most part of the narrative is therefore the internal monologue of the protagonist. She often speaks to her classmates and teachers, but there is a huge gulf between her and her parents, counselors/doctors, and past best friends.

Photo by Carolina on Unsplash

Her condition explains that in our post-traumatic state, we feel distant from the ones who have been closest to us — and it is mostly because of their reaction to our situation. Anderson thus throws ample light on how to handle those who are suffering from some trauma in their post-traumatic state. Melinda says at one point in the novel:

There is a beast in my gut, I can hear it scraping away at the inside of my ribs. Even if I dump the memory, it will stay with me, staining me.

The internal monologue of the book allows you to dig deeper into the mind of a person who is suffering but unable to communicate it. Anderson reveals how a growing child feels being trapped in the world of adults, Melinda says:

The doctor stares into the back of my eyes with a bright light. Can she read the thoughts hidden there? if she can, what will she do? Call the cops? Send me to the nuthouse? Do I want her to? I just want to sleep.

Anderson highlights the theme of abuse, the generational gap, and most importantly the importance of understanding mental conditions. The protagonist is suffering from depression and PTSD, and even appears to be on the verge of schizophrenia at times, she says:

My head is killing me, my throat is killing me, my stomach bubbles with toxic waste. I just want to sleep. A coma would be nice. Or amnesia. Anything, just to get rid of this, these thoughts, whispers in my mind.

She is clearly becoming suicidal due to her inability to speak about her mental suffering. She says:

I open up a paper clip and scratch it across the inside of my left wrist. Pitiful. If a suicide attempt is a cry for help, then what is this? A whimper, a peep?

Photo by Amauri Mejía on Unsplash

There is the theme of art and how it can rescue our souls and the role of a teacher in allowing a kid to navigate in the cruel world. I am attaching the image below of her art teacher’s amazing advice because I surely want to break the monotony of this article having so many quotes already! Here you go!

Photo clicked by the author from the ebook Speak by Laurie Anderson

This book is undoubtedly for every generation, a story that speaks to all of us. I am not asking you to be involved in a high school drama. Read it as a journal of a kid trying to communicate with you but unable to do it. Focus on the mental dilemmas of the ninth grader and then look around you, do you have such characters? Save them!

The book contains enough references as to what happens when the kids grow up in a broken family or when there is a communication void inside the house. It can be a pretty good read for the parents too.

The book is surely a 5-star for me. It deals with very disturbing topics but I think we all need to take a glimpse into the lives of modern kids. Anderson adds a section named “Listen” at the end of the book which records her own impressions and she says:

You are hungry to speak. You just need more adults who will listen.

She expresses how this book has changed millions of people. The experiences of Melinda were not hers alone, there were so many who resonated with her journey.

Photo clicked by the author from the ebook My Dark Vanessa by Elizabeth Russell

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed this review. Please share your thoughts if you have read the book or maybe just leave a recommendation for something similar.

--

--

Rafia Naseem
Counter Arts

Hello Lovelies! I am a book fanatic and a writer! Let's engage in a meaningful conversation about books, movies, art, humans & everything under the mighty Sun!!