The Fauvist Portrait

How fauvist artists appropriated the portrait genre

Johanna Da Costa
Counter Arts

--

Finnish Woman, Sonia Delaunay, 1907–1908 — The Israel Museum

Honestly, have you ever seen such a great artistic movement? So bright, beautiful, and colorful? Not sure, no. Fauvism is great. So cool that I talk about it all the time in my visits and sell it to everyone as if I had shares in the company Fauvism 1905, listed on the stock exchange since the 1910s. I love it so much that I created a video conference to talk about it to unknown people through my screen for two hours. And people loved it.

Anyway, since apparently fauvism is the red thread of my life (yes, we cling to what we can in times of crisis, eh), I thought that writing a little article about it would maybe catch someone’s attention. But more than “just” fauvism, I wanted to talk about something more precise, that we don’t really talk about when we talk about fauvism. So today we are going to look at the portrait among the Fauvist artists.

But first, I’m not going to leave you without any weapon! Yes, I’m a big fan of fauvism, and yes, I know that the whole universe is not as interested in this movement as I am. So, I’ll give you a brief overview of the question, and then we’ll talk about the portrait among the fauvists.

Fauvism is a movement of painting that appeared in France at the very beginning of the 20th century. The term “Fauvist”…

--

--

Johanna Da Costa
Counter Arts

a French tour guide, a feminist, a cheese lover. I write about art, books, feminism, and others