The Neil Gaiman Allegations

A response to some rather horrific news.

Priya Sridhar
Counter Arts

--

Wikimedia Commons

Content warning: This article talks about sexual assault allegations, possible grooming, and power imbalances in coercive relationships.

So.

Neil Gaiman.

It feels like there are no words. And that any words may feel insincere. Because generic phrases ring hollow in the face of someone else’s trauma.

The thing is that as a speculative fiction writer; I am part of this community. And saying nothing becomes akin to complicity and culpability. So, I took time with my words, so as not to drown.

I didn’t want to believe it; I admit. When the news broke, I wanted to wait for another source. But then I listened to the Council of Geeks’ video, and trusted sources that said Neil had a reputation, and not a good one. It convinced me. And I have to rethink a lot of things right now.

The TLDR

At least five women have accused Neil of sexually assaulting them or coercing them into sex by using his money, author status, or power, with the incidents dating back to 1986. There may be more over the next few months. Tortoise Media, the podcast that put the episodes with the…

--

--

Priya Sridhar
Counter Arts

A 2016 MBA graduate and published author, Priya Sridhar has been writing fantasy and science fiction for fifteen years, and counting.