Women going out on their own / Marriage / Freedom / Beauty

The Woman Who Sings So Sweetly

A memoir about rights for women

Hermione Wilds Writes - Writer and editor
Counter Arts
Published in
4 min readMay 13, 2024

--

Sketch is by Hermione Wilds Writes – Writer and editor

Once, someone who knew our family offered to take me to a concert; the concert was a Tracy Chapman concert; I said yes, but my husband would not let me go. Maybe a woman, man or anyone from a different culture might read this and be astounded that such a thing could happen in the 1990s, and in the UK, but it is true. It happened.

Now, I am writing this because I was prompted to by a writer’s story listed on Medium's list of great prompts, I would not have read the prompt otherwise; the prompt was called What is it about this particular writer that moves me? Well, have you listened to the lyrics? That is all you need to do.

To return to the story, perhaps this neighbour noticed in me the yearning for such a world because I don’t remember telling him I liked Tracy Chapman.

Isn’t it a shame that trust cannot be had in relationships when you are what is called a ‘beautiful woman’.

Of course, I am trustworthy, but how do you know this? The answer is that you don’t. Only the men who have tried and failed know this.

Still, I missed out on that concert because my husband didn’t trust me. Yes, I…

--

--

Hermione Wilds Writes - Writer and editor
Counter Arts

Top WRITER: Art 2023; Editor; Awards nominated writer; MA., B. A; Author; soft landscape gardener; editor of 'All's Well' & 'Shoe Love Mag''. Mum to 5 adults...