‘Universe of Lost Messages: A Novel’ (The Charismites Book 2) (2024) by Janet Stilson

My Book Review

Marc Barham
Counter Arts

--

Universe of Lost Messages (2024) by Janet Stilson (photo by kind permission of the author)

EVERYBODY’S BLIND IN their own way. But I was stupid blind on that morning, when the splintering, howling, thump thump throbs of music from my sister’s room ended. In the upside-down world that Izabel always created, sweet silence was my morning alarm.

Janet Stilson, Universe of Lost Messages (Forthcoming May 2024)

This is the second science-fiction book by Janet Stilson. It is a stand-alone book and I have read it as such without any previous knowledge of the theme or existing narrative. Her first was The Juice (The Charismites Book 1) published in 2021.

Firstly, it does not matter, that you nor I, know anything about the previous book as this is a self-contained work, by a talented writer, who has created a story that I could not stop reading, once I had read, that very first paragraph (see above). I was hooked.

I have read a colossal number of books both fiction and non-fiction. My personal inclination lies towards science-fiction and I have read most of the classics and some good but not so classic. So I think I have a good eye and brain for a story that is not only thoroughly entertaining and gripping narratively but is the mark of a writer slowly flowering into a…

--

--

Marc Barham
Counter Arts

Column @ timetravelnexus.com on iconic books, TV shows/films: Time Travel Peregrinations. Reviewed all episodes of ‘Dark’ @ site. https://linktr.ee/marcbarham64