Voxelish #2: Kuraudo City

A new low-poly/voxel-like scene with a futuristic city in the clouds…

Mina Pêcheux
Counter Arts
Published in
4 min readAug 7, 2021

--

Last week, I started a new CG series about voxel art: “Voxelish”. Throughout this project, I’m going to create little scenes in a low-poly/voxel style.

Voxel art is the 3d version of pixel art: the idea is to use cubes as the base element for your 3d scene (just like squares, i.e. pixels, are the base element for 2d images in pixel art). It’s been made famous by various video games like Minecraft.

My goal with the “Voxelish” project is to create personal scenery and animations by mixing up isometric references and low-poly modelling with voxel art. I’m not following all the voxel art rules by the letter but rather drawing inspiration from it and adding in some cartoonish-styled models or visual effects.

So today, here’s a new render of a futuristic city in the clouds with some spaceships: Kuraudo City!

About this render…

--

--

Mina Pêcheux
Counter Arts

I’m a freelance full-stack web & game developer. I’m passionate about topics like CGI, music, data science and more! Find me at: https://minapecheux.com :)