What I Learned From Coding My First Neumorphic App

Gökser Pirik
Counter Arts
Published in
3 min readDec 17, 2021
flutter_neumorphic package image

From my start to coding apps, I always wanted to try neumorphic design system in my apps. Finally, I have coded my first app with neumorphic design recently. And there are few things I realized about Neumorphic design that are helpful for designers and programmers. Let’s start!

from easeout.co (found on Google Images)

Great for Presentation, Easy to Code

First, surely it is amazing to see an app with depth adjustment for each button and element. It makes users aware of each element, and shows them they are separate things. Also, coding an app with neumorphic design was really easy for me thanks to Flutter_Neumorphic package on Flutter. I hope the language you code also has a package like that! Because it makes the job waaay more easier to decide what you are going to do. You mostly focus on other things rather than adjusting the depth or shadow.

Nevertheless, do NOT forget that neumorphic design is not something that makes every app great. It makes apps really good when you use it right. I suggest you to decide which things are important to point out or stand out, so you can especially focus on them in your neumorphic app. Just like I did in the Starbucks app! (I didn’t design all of it. I checked other designs, and combined good things.)

For example a coffee button should stand out! I mean it’s a coffee app, and there is a coffee icon(you know that). So I made it important for the design. However, most of the text should be readable because people will use the app anytime during day.

User Experience Conflict

As I said when it’s used right, apps can be great with Neumorphic, yet there can also be a performance problem.

Basically, when you create an element in an app, you give a task the CPU or GPU. Moreover, if you create your app with Neumorphic design, you give a lot of tasks to them to handle. Because you gave more and more specification to each element, so they are heavier now.

As a result, you should be so careful when you use this design system. Over-using it can cause problems when you publish the app to ordinary users.

Changing Existing Design

If there is an existing app, it might be hard to redesign it for neumorphic design. There are a lot of things to consider — users might don’t like it, errors might rise, the cost of the designing and coding the app all over again. This is a big thing especially for the start-ups.

In general, Neumorphic is really good for variety in design. It can represent your app in a great way, but you should be careful when using it to keep the app efficient and easy to use. Good luck!

--

--

Gökser Pirik
Counter Arts

Interested in web & mobile app development. Like photography&videography. Student at METU. 20yo