When a Celebrity Dies, We Think of Our Death and the Afterlife

Have you wondered what comes next after we die?

I, Napoleon B.
Counter Arts

--

When a Celebrity Dies, We Think of Our Death and the Afterlife
Photo by RODNAE Productions from Pexels

Yesterday it was Oscar-winning actor William Hurt. I remember him from movies like Children of the Lesser God, Kiss of the Spider Woman, and Broadcast News. As you get older, you will be surprised by the memory that comes back to you almost spontaneously as soon as you hear of the death of a celebrity.

As soon as I checked what people were saying on Twitter about William Hurt, I noticed that the comments were starting to get ugly.

Does death exonerate you from your past?

William Hurt died at 71. The family said — ‘Hurt died peacefully, among family, of natural causes.’

The truth is we don’t know much about the private lives of celebrities, even the ones who are very public like Kim Kardashian.

The internet acknowledged William Hurt’s impressive portfolio of work, but others also brought up his former connection with actress Marlee Matlin. Matlin’s outstanding performance in “Children of a Lesser God” earned her the distinction of becoming the first deaf actress to win an Oscar. Hurt delivered the prise, but by the time they were in the car together, he had supposedly inquired if she believed she deserved it…

--

--

I, Napoleon B.
Counter Arts

We all have good stories to tell, and I choose to write them myself. You can donate to my writing journey here: https://square.link/u/5EZrNONS