Country Charm #2

A Visit to the Graveyard

Chapter 14

Harley King
Country Charm
Published in
2 min readSep 1, 2020

--

Created by Harley King on Canva

The novel, Country Charm, tells the story of Peter Schertz, a successful restaurant owner in a small farming community in central Illinois. On his 60th birthday he becomes engaged to Eleanor, an attorney, who is twenty years younger than him. But his happiness is short lived because external forces are threatening his restaurant and the family farm.

In this chapter, Peter is visiting the gravesite of Kathy, his wife, who passed away at the age of 32 when their three children were very young. Peter raised Stephen, Rachel and Jason by himself.

Peter has developed the habit of visiting Kathy’s grave every few weeks to share his thoughts with her. This habit has probably helped him work through the many of the problems he has faced over the years.

Peter shares with Kathy the fact that Stephen, the oldest son, is behind on the mortgage payments and faces the threat of foreclosure. Ben Hodel, who has been after Peter’s land for years, has acquired the mortgage to the family farm.

I wrote for an hour today and produced 521 words. My writing time was cut short by the arrival of an electrician to install a new bathroom fan. The old one had died a quick death last week.

As a novelist, I spend time in a world within my mind. But reality, where my body lives and sometimes my brain, often pulls me back suddenly and without mercy. That is the super power of a writer — being able to leap between worlds without losing a sense of self.

A special thank you to everyone who is following my novel writing journey. I appreciate the support. Hopefully, writing these blog posts about the writing process and receiving supportive feedback will keep me motivated to finish the story.

--

--