My Thoughts On Harvard Model Congress

Samiyah Bryant
County Prep Chronicle
4 min readMar 19, 2018

On Wednesday, February 21st, I was able to spend a solid five days in Boston, Massachusetts for Harvard Model Congress and learn how the art of politics works. I was also able to learn how dedicated each congress delegate is and how stressful their work is representing every American citizen. I honestly thought it was a great opportunity to represent a role of a certain congressional delegate and take on their viewpoints as if they were your own.

However, even though I may have had a productive learning experience during these five days, I did not have a good time at all on my trip. I’ve experienced a heavy amount of racism that can never be erased from my memory. I can remember the first day was hectic. We sat in this big room with bronze chairs and sat down to listen to many students’ bill proposals they wrote to see whether if their bill is worthy to pass or not. All of our committees told us to write your thoughts on paper and raise your hand so a person can be there to take your request. I have, in fact, followed the rules and raised my hand yet this white gentleman who saw me, continued to pass by me. I waited in a total of 20 minutes with my arm raised and still I had no assistance given to me until I said “Are you going to take my paper?” The man finally walks over to me and snatches the paper out of my hand and walks off after I witness him being very friendly and polite to the other children that look just like him.

Secondly, when it was time to finally make a decision whether if we agree or oppose to bills, I raise my hand to oppose to a certain one. As I did, all I hear from a group of white children, sitting a few rows behind me, say “Of course the colored girl would vote for this.” Hearing those words made me outraged to the point that it made me begin to not care as much about this whole learning opportunity.

Finally, I remembered that the captain of our committee gave us fifteen minutes for the unmodified break, which gave us the opportunity to go have free time until we had to return. During the break, I remember my friend and I walked outside of our rooms to get fresh air. As my friend and I walked down the halls with numerous kids, an old, heavy set, white male asked my friend and I “Where are we supposed to be?”. This was weird because she and I clearly had our name tags, which explained why we were supposed to be there. I personally said to him “There are many kids roaming the area, but why are you asking us?”. His response was very poor and unjustified but he still asked us “Where are you supposed to be?” I blatantly pointed to my tag and his only answer was “Oh” and off he goes.

This was truly the last straw for me and I felt so lonely because nobody would understand me. I just wanted to head to my friends and family, who are nothing like these close minded people that don’t seem to understand that we live in 2018. I felt shameful that a respected institute like Harvard University were not aware of such deeming behavior from their staff. Many young children like myself felt that Harvard is such an amazing school that take their students seriously. Personally I feel if you are not the majority of this country, I wouldn’t recommend participating in this program otherwise there’s a chance you may experience what I went through.

Many others who were on this trip with me seemed to enjoy it, but felt that they were deprived of touring Boston in all its entirety. I feel as though writing to you guys and also writing a letter to Harvard Model Congress has somewhat put my feelings to rest. However, I felt Harvard Model Congress gave me an insincere apology with a poor justification as to why these actions has happened to me. There are no excuses for this whatsoever. Even though at that very moment I felt helpless and weak, I look back at this experience now and not only has it made me stronger, it also inspired me to become an activist. Possibly in the future, I hope to speak upon equal rights for minorities. Therefore, I feel Harvard Model Congress should give more than just a basic, unjustified apology to the many minority kids that have experienced this. They should address this issue publicly and take extra precautions so something like this never happens again.

--

--