A Cloud Weighs a Million Tonnes!

Mal
Courage to Write
Published in
2 min readJul 6, 2024
Photo captured by me

“Scientists say that a cloud weighs around a million tonnes

and I wonder how often we think the things we carry aren’t heavy.”

-Lauren Levi

I read this on the internet and stared at the wall for the next hour or so. Does it make you ponder, too? It makes sense in every aspect that counts. Not addressing what you’re feeling is the most brutal thing you can do to yourself. Covering difficult emotions like anger, hatred, anxiety, self-doubt, envy, and many more, doesn’t eliminates them.

It’s a temporary solution that causes the issue to grow from a chunk of ice to a massive iceberg. I have lived a certain period of my life invalidating my emotions. Rejecting my feelings. No, it didn’t remove them but it did encourage them to deteriorate.

Let me explain with an example. Suppose you fell down and scraped your knee, badly. As soon as you reach home, you’ll take care of it, right? Clean it with antiseptic and then bandage it. You will not pretend that you didn’t got hurt. You will not say:

“Why am I fussing over it? People have it much worse .It’s okay, I am fine”

Then sit back and do yourself a favor. Ask a question and be brutally honest.

“Is it fair to treat myself that way? Do I really deserve that?”

Judge the standards you have for yourself and for others. What you’re going through isn’t something neglectable. Just because someone went through something worse than you doesn’t invalidate your pain. You can admit,

“I am not fine”

Stop pretending and admit your feeling. I know it’s gonna feel like you’ve reached rock bottom but embracing your vulnerabilities turns you into a Phoenix. A creature capable of arising from the ashes. So, stop treating yourself as some superhuman who isn’t affected by anything and treat yourself the way you treat others.

So, Do you want to be a miserable human being or the Phoenix from the ashes? The choice is yours.

If this made sense to you, do clap (50 Times) and Comment!

--

--

Mal
Courage to Write

Get me out of my blues and I’m feeling brand new.