How I am Finally Learning Analytics

My First Hand Account - Week 1

Zack Vella
Course Studies
3 min readJun 8, 2017

--

On June first Corsair’s Analytics (the consulting company associated with Corsair's Publishing) and I began work on a consulting contract. This work is specific to designing a marketing attribution model for a 50–100 employer sized company. One of my top 5 traits is life long learning and after a few trial runs with other employees, I am happy to say I am now learning, really learning new skills and interesting things as part of my job!

Switching industries made this conversation all too fun.

Let me step back, I digitally met George Earl about a year and a half ago. Throughout that time he explained the concept for his company. A consulting firm that doubles as a school for high yield skills and on the job training. Anyone can follow a pivot table how-to video, but building a custom marketing attribution model in the real world… Obviously ones going to have a higher impact than the other. So, I made the career change [jun-1] and I am in my first week, I can already say it was a fantastic career decision. I don’t mean for this article to be all ass ‘kissy’, but let me set the stage for you.

George and I have a honest relationship, at times I wish I had more skills but I would rather be upfront about any gaps in a skill set rather than not. When George shared with me the contract for the consulting work I panicked. Reading the contract, it proclaimed we would be doing x, y, and z, none of which I know how to do! So I asked him,

zack, [25.05.17 18:37]
Corsair’s Associates will begin exploring, documenting, and detail all [REDACTED] data sources required to support marketing attribution.

zack, [25.05.17 18:37]
how are we gonna do that?

George Earl, [25.05.17 19:06]
I will show you sir. For I am Spartacus and I brought you here.

So there it is. An employer who is willing to train me. It was a serious journey for me to get to this point. The prospect of being part of a team that was built from the ground up and the right way, it makes it all worth it.

I found this to be 100% true for a master degree too.

The thing that pains me is I went to undergraduate at Saint Martins University, then Grad School at Boston University THEN Medical School at PCOM [dropped out]. I bring this up to illustrate the investment I put into education. After being in the job seeking market and realizing how far a education gets you… I wish I would have done something similar to what George and I are doing, just 10 years ago. Employers don’t ask about your class load, they ask about work experience.

--

--