Chaos or patterns?

Why I Left Medical School for a Career in Analytics: Part II

Zack Vella
Course Studies

--

“You left Harvard in the 19th century to join the cowboys… it is exciting but messy.”

Although a metaphor, a mentor of mine summed up my divergent transition from medical school to analytics in an insightful way. In Part II, I will illustrate the frustrations I experienced during this career realignment.

Perception vs Reality

Why is it that most professions have a “rule book” with guidelines and an accepted right way to do things except analytics? When I first started in this field, I expected to follow a certain path. Evidently, the combination of analytics, computer science, and the integration of technology has created an absolute free-for-all. It has been frustrating trying to navigate a market which too closely resembles the Wild West. Some days I do wish for more structure, but embracing the chaos has proven to yield the best results.

In the book, Trillions, they detail how certain career paths, like electricians, do in fact have a rule book. A standard way of doing things is established in nearly every other profession. Trillions also states it takes on average 15 years after a profession’s mainstream introduction for a rule book to enter the market.

An example of two analysts’ view of wiring.

When I blindly entered into this market, I assumed I would follow an explicit and synchronous path, with clear performance and achievement measurements — what a headache that mindset has caused.

Western Academics

Academics is great in that you go to school, do your work, and move to the next grade. There exists a hierarchy of thought in which you’re exposed to new ideas at a steady rate and develop into a thinker. Even while obtaining my Master’s degree, I was presented with a skill set and asked to apply it to real-world problems. The sources of this skill set were more open than in my undergraduate studies, but they were still rigid. In medical school, that rigidity was compounded into a symbolic wall that even Pink Floyd would be proud of. I’m speaking about the rigidity at the beginning of medical school, which is not applicable to experienced doctors.

This “all in all you’re just another brick in the wall” mentality has been drilled into my psyche.

Western Workplace

If you ask someone to define analytics, they will probably answer quickly with a definition that differs from your own. This is because analytics has become a popular buzzword with a definition only loosely connected to the real world.

Now, let’s look at analytics, which can be technically defined as the analysis of statistics, but beyond that is chaos. There is no hierarchy for the understanding of complicated ideas, no rhyme or reason why one program is preferable to another. Most frustrating is the lack of a clear way to master the skill of analytics. An example of this is the title of Business Intelligence Analyst, which implies the use of analytics. How does an analyst know when to stop learning R and to start learning business? Does he or she go back to school for another degree in stats or an MBA?

This is a crossroads that I see as being a positive for analytics. One can carve out a future, pursue self-interests within a very narrow scope and develop a career based on strengths. I know this isn’t something unique to analytics, but if you’re jumping in with both feet and are new to the idea of developing yourself, take heed, job titles are arbitrary.

Remembering Part I

Falling out of love with medicine made the workload just too great, and it was a hard decision to walk away. Yet, I clearly saw the currency of everything molding itself into some iteration of analysis which proved to me it was a relatively safe and exciting opportunity. It hasn't been easy, but it has been the right choice.

Wrap up

I’m sure my naiveté is showing more in this article than in the previous one, but I’m writing from a honest place in the hope that someone in a similar situation can relate or someone considering a change will have a better understanding of what the real world is like.

As a parting note, if you leave a seat in medical school for a career in analytics, be ready for your workload to be drastically different. I see this as a great opportunity to apply any extra bandwidth to grow as a professional. After being in school, I’m sure you would love to grab a drink with your friends for once. :)

--

--