Double Tap Heart

Kevin Fernandes
Cover 2 Cover
Published in
2 min readAug 12, 2020
There’s a better version of this here.

On

autopilot

I

take

a late

night

walk

through the circles

of

red

(lights? They’re for exs.)

and

the occasional

green

(makes me feel special)

roads

of

Instastories.

Another

sleepless night

makes

me

wonder how people can write

such insincerity

with

such

conviction and confidence;

I

myself

pee

(in spurts;

What’s hard on the soul is hard on the pole)

down the walls of the toilet bowl

and hesitate to flush

least

I

wake

up the

neighbour

downstairs

(good plumbing makes good neighbours?),

who’s probably drunk

Or

stoned

at 3 am.

I

slide into DMs

only

to be hearted:

in a world full of

swipes,

a double tap

is suitable for friendzoning.

Lub Dub.

Some toxically positive fool

posts

about

sunflowers and Hiroshima.

Someone else

comments on a picture of mine

(a throwback shared to validate myself)

“I just want to be in love with you and then wake up to seeing you lounging on our couch with our dog and a coffee”.

Double tap.

Lub.

Just

don’t

forget

there are dishes piled high

in

the Sink of Sisyphus

in the background

just

like

my pensive stepwell photos

hides

Ticktok starlets, discarded plastic bottles, and graffiti

(Rahul loves Pooja).

Dub

I

think

of

Pokes

on Facebook;

some unreturned

(preventing further poking)

some ignored

(for the same reason).

A buzz and humming and whirring.

Late night

Pokes

bring

Embarrassment

Expectations

or

Malaria.

I

put

my

phone on flight mode

and

away

(to prevent radiations for blowing up my sunflowerless heart).

Lub Dub.

I

am

still

awake.

Are you?

Writing a series of poems based on book titles along with Neville Craig Kumar. This one is based on Andrew Smart’s ‘Autopilot’.

An airbrushed version is here.

--

--

Kevin Fernandes
Cover 2 Cover

Reader. Tea Drinker. Matchbox Collector. Sock Lover. Patchwork Quilt Maker. Wholly Roamin’ (pun intended) Catlik