Kevin Fernandes
Cover 2 Cover
Published in
1 min readNov 16, 2020

--

  • Turquoise Water

set on fire

smells

fresh and fine and foreign

(not "foreign" as in "strange or alien"

but

"foreign"

in the way my aunts smell when they visit us once every few years,

clean, dollar store, a-human

"foreign"

in the way my mum's suitcase smells years after her year in the West).

My sister

tells

me

Bath and Body

works

is

expensive.

But

how would I know?

I

only

recently

shifted

from

Lifebuoy

(supersaver packs; 3 for the price of 2)

to

Khadi soaps

(bought in self righteousness at State emporia)

to

gram flour to wash my body

old rice water for my hair

tears and vinegar for my soul.

Turquoise Water

set on fire

fills

the bathroom

with

itself

dancing shadows on the wall

and

teasing and tossing and rearranging

my insides

the way only

lovers and ghosts and roadside gobi manchurian

have done before.

Was

this

stolen intimacy

your

intention

when

you

picked

Turquoise Water

(to be set on fire)

for

me

from shelves

of

consumption Canada and illusions of freedom and choice?

Turquoise Water

set on fire

burns

on

the shelf

(littered with sea shells and tumble weed balls of hair)

and

fills

my mind

with

stolen thoughts

of you

while

sweat grime corona (cum) fears

stray weaker rooted leg hair tears

are

washed off

me

and

Turquoise Water

(set on fire)

turns

smoke

and

g(r)ay.

Writing a series of poems based on book titles along with Neville Craig Kumar. This one is based on the name of Bath and Body Work’s scented candle, Turquoise Waters.

--

--

Kevin Fernandes
Cover 2 Cover

Reader. Tea Drinker. Matchbox Collector. Sock Lover. Patchwork Quilt Maker. Wholly Roamin’ (pun intended) Catlik