Friday Feels: Middle School Was Weird, But at Least the Music Was Good

Hope Olszewski
Cover Story
1 min readSep 28, 2018

--

There are a million cringe-worthy things that come to mind when you think of middle school, but the music that defined those years usually isn’t one of them. So we rounded up some of the songs we loved back then (and in many cases, still love today).

Choosing the songs we rocked out to in middle school obviously stirred up some old memories. Here are a few Codewordians’ reminiscences on the songs they chose:

Austin chose “Heart Attack” by Sum 41 and had this to say:

I popped the highest and flyest wheelies on my Huffy when this album was on my Walkman (ESP max mode)

Vance chose “Jump Around” by House of Pain and shared this:

Yeah. I’m old. :P This was the quintessential song of summer in 1992. I remember singing it along with all of my closest friends WHILE jumping on a trampoline at someone’s “house party” one weekend… cuz there ain’t no party like a 6th grade party!!! ;) LOL

--

--