Learning from Isolation: My COVID-19 Experience

COVID-19 Wall of Memories
COVID-19 Observer
Published in
3 min readMay 24, 2021

By Letitia Plummer

The sweat meandered down my back and soaked through my clothes as my head pounded, and my stomach heaved. Every inch of my body hurt to the core as though it were clamped tightly between two sheets of metal. My breath caught in my chest and battled to reach my mouth, and when it did, it took every ounce of energy to take the next breath. I assumed it was the oysters I had for dinner.

Photo courtesy Letitia Plummer

Two days later, I took a COVID test, and the results changed my life forever. When the phone rang, I was trying to change out of my fourth pair of sweat-soaked pajamas. I was too tired to shower and could only think about getting into bed and curling into the fetal position that I had been finding somewhat comforting. I heard the doctor say that my test had come back positive, but the boys tested negative. Although his words were clear, my brain refused to register those words, and I asked him to repeat.

My immediate thought was for my team with whom I had been working while following CDC guidelines. The next few hours were grueling as I spent time informing my staff, the Mayor, talking to the media, and sending my sons away to live with other family members. I was trying to juggle being a patient, a mother, a Council Member, a team leader, and an elected official. I was hungry, aching, tired, sleep-deprived but knew that the people of Houston deserved answers.

Over the next few days, as COVID-19 raged through my body, I continued with my doctor-prescribed medication. I would have good and bad moments.

During this time, I began to experience the emotional impact of COVID-19. Alone in my house, I had no one but my two furry friends to keep me company. There were times that I struggled to get up, and there was no one to help me. I was alone, surrounded by silence. I spent a lot of time crying during those days of isolation. Even though it was great reading social media messages from constituents, talking to friends, family, and my team, I craved physical company.

Those days of isolation were more challenging to bear than the physical symptoms. I had never been an overly religious person. I always believed and followed the ten commandments, prayed when I could and did charity. During my time in isolation, however, I had a lot of time to think. I spent much time meditating and praying.

When I see the number of people that have died in Houston from COVID-19, I feel guilty. I am reminded that they had a family, had a life full of memories and dreams just like me. I somehow feel that I was given a second chance.

Now I prioritize what’s important to me: Self-care, spending time with family, and fighting for the people of Houston.

Dr. Letitia Plummer is the Houston City Council member for At-Large District 4.

This originally appeared on COVID-19 Wall of Memories on Oct. 15, 2020.

--

--

COVID-19 Wall of Memories
COVID-19 Observer

COVID-19 Wall of Memories memorializes the lives of COVID-19 victims while serving as a source of information about its impact on the United States.