Pandemic Motherhood Diary, Entry 5: Come and Make Memories

COVID-19 Wall of Memories
COVID-19 Observer
Published in
2 min readMar 17, 2022

By Melissa Menny

This is the fifth entry in our series on the experience of raising two “pandemic kids.” Read entry 4 here.

We received a brochure in the mail this past week regarding the zoo. “Come and make memories, it says.” I found it interesting, considering we have been conversing about just how much we would love to take our toddler to the zoo. But of course, fear of COVID set in and grounded us. Are we willing to gamble with our kids’ safety for spring break activities?

My husband is an educator, so yes, we look forward to his break. The million-dollar question has been, what do we do with it? Do we go somewhere — anywhere at all? It has been anxiety-inducing just thinking about crowded spaces and difficult trying to weigh the pros and woes.

Making memories and getting outside of the house and outside of our every day would be wonderful. It is difficult to place my concerns in the far corners of my mind just so I can enjoy time out with my family. How is anyone doing this? I feel like it’s a skill that I have yet to learn but am possibly willing to try.

We have a small idea of what we would like to do during the break. Considering that our younger son is three months old, traveling too far is out of the question. However, there are a few places that we are considering, including possibly seeing family members.

The public hysteria has settled somewhat, but my paranoia has not. I want to do several activities with my family but shaking the fear is challenging. Still, who wants to spend the entire break indoors? Decisions — decisions. Gambling with our health and possibly our lives is not a form of normalcy that I want to accept. However, the idea of seeing our child pointing at animals in person that he spends time imitating via his tablet would be everything.

Melissa Menny is an author with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Journalism. She is a poet and a writer in all aspects. When she is not working, she enjoys painting, music, and spending time with her husband and two sons.

--

--

COVID-19 Wall of Memories
COVID-19 Observer

COVID-19 Wall of Memories memorializes the lives of COVID-19 victims while serving as a source of information about its impact on the United States.