Thoughts on Vaccine Hesitancy From a COVID Survivor

COVID-19 Wall of Memories
COVID-19 Observer
Published in
3 min readMay 25, 2021

By Marlene D. Malone

December 17, 2020 was one of the worst days of my life. That day I was diagnosed with COVID-19.

How could this happen to me? I wondered. I thought I did everything right. I wore a mask when in public, sanitized everything on an endless basis, socially distanced myself, and lived like a hermit. I spent the next three weeks pondering my life, if it would end, and if my death would have meaning to those who survive this pandemic.

I was fortunate to recover at home, but even five months later I have lasting symptoms from this virus. As such, I have happily taken my vaccinations.

If I, a survivor of this terrible disease, can eagerly step up and get vaccinated, why are others hesitant? Recent studies completed by the NIH have shown that people who oppose mandatory childhood vaccinations are more likely to object to receiving the COVID vaccination. For decades, the debate on the safety of vaccinations has been carried on in the Western world. Whether a person objects to vaccinations because of religious, health, or other reasons, public health officials have not achieved full education of the benefits of COVID vaccinations

On social media, I see parents posting they do not wish to have themselves or their children vaccinated because they think it will cause other complications. This is indicative of anti-vaccination advocates who believe childhood immunizations cause cognitive issues such as autism.

Given the recent rise in childhood illnesses such as measles among deliberately unvaccinated children, I am not surprised there is resistance to the COVID vaccine.

Another reason for vaccine hesitancy is the belief that COVID is not a serious disease. As a COVID survivor, there is a simple question I would pose to those choosing not to get vaccinated. Could they handle knowing a disease they labeled as no more severe than the common cold killed their loved one unintentionally? My husband, my father, my foster children, and my friends were devastated when I was diagnosed.

We are a self-involved society, and it is now literally killing us. We all need to think about what is best for everyone, not just for ourselves. As a COVID survivor, there is nothing more important to me than to do my part in making sure others are protected.

I offer some advice for those who are hesitant about the vaccine. Remember that you could be symptom-free but infectious. Stop thinking about yourself and consider the health of others. I contracted this disease through no fault of my own and will possibly feel the after-effects the rest of my life. Do not put your loved ones at risk to suffer the same fate.

Marlene D. Malone is a freelance academic researcher and editor as well as an experienced paralegal. She lives in the Washington, D.C. area with her husband Chris and two cats, Hermoine and Albus.

This originally appeared on The COVID-19 Wall of Memories website on May 17, 2021.

--

--

COVID-19 Wall of Memories
COVID-19 Observer

COVID-19 Wall of Memories memorializes the lives of COVID-19 victims while serving as a source of information about its impact on the United States.