Checking In: Nope, Still Not a Gun Person

Researching household weapons at 3:42 am.

Monica Leonelle
COVID Diary

--

I want to start by saying I don’t think COVID-19 is going to be apocalyptic.

We are not heading into “prepper” levels of toilet paper shortages, this virus isn’t going to wipe out humanity, and we definitely won’t be at Walking Dead levels of WTF anytime soon.

But a close second thing I need to tell you? I live in the United States, where we own approximately 400 million guns to our approximately 350 million people.

When I say “we,” I really mean the royal We, because I own exactly zero guns. This is despite coming from a military family that owns guns, despite growing up around guns, and despite living in large dangerous cities for my entire adult life.

I Don’t Hate Guns, I Just Don’t Own One

I know this topic is controversial, and I have no interest in convincing anyone to shift their position on gun control.

I can only share how I sometimes feel: that when others have something they could use against you, your lizard brain is going to question if you need that something too.

I’ve spoken to my husband about taking a shooting class, and while we’ve kept the conversation open-ended, having a five-month…

--

--

Monica Leonelle
COVID Diary

Writer, entrepreneur, artist. USA TODAY bestseller. I help people get their big stories, messages, and ideas out into the world at The World Needs Your Book.