Politics and soccer are inseparable

Edward Patrick Akinyemi
Edwardp.me
Published in
1 min readJun 22, 2021
Order today at edwardp.me/yousaysoccer (Credit: Graziani Multimedia LLC)

As you all know, it’s Pride month. Unfortunately, that hasn’t come without controversy.

Germany will be playing Hungary in Munich on Wednesday for the final game of Group F of the EURO 2020 soccer championships.

The mayor of Munich wants to light up the stadium in rainbow colors to protest a controversial new law in Hungary that bans the dissemination of content in schools that promotes homosexuality and gender change. The Hungarian Foreign Minister is vehemently protesting this.

Politics is sport; sport is politics. In this article, I write about how, from Mussolini to Hitler, politicians have always used soccer to further their political agendas. Click the link below to read it now!

Article link: https://sportslens.com/rainbow-stadium-controversy-proves-that-politics-will-never-be-separate-from-sport/366558/

See you, Space Cowboy.

You can order “You Say Soccer, I Say Football” today at edwardp.me/yousaysoccer. I’m also the author of the book “Community Heroes: What a year as an AmeriCorps VISTA member taught me about community development

--

--