The cost of outrage: my view on the PSG vs. Istanbul Basaksehir racism incident

Edward Patrick Akinyemi
Edwardp.me
Published in
2 min readDec 27, 2020

--

A few weeks ago, there was a highly controversial racist incident during a game between French team Paris-Saint Germain and Turkish side Istanbul Basaksehir.

A match official was accused of saying something racist to one of the Basaksehir players, the player obviously didn’t like it, and, after discussions between the players and the match officials, the game was abandoned on the spot out of protest and postponed till the next day (for a detailed summary of the incident, click here).

In the following article, I go against the grain a little bit by arguing that due to all the outrage from the incident, we lost the opportunity to have a productive, nuanced conversation about racism, misinterpretations, and how growing up in different environments affects your perception of reality.

I’m essentially risking my pseudo-journalistic career by writing my (slightly?) contrarian on this hugely controversial event. And I use some concepts from Solutions Journalism as well to make my point!

Anyway, check out the article at the link below.

Check it out at this link!

See you, Space Cowboy.

I’m the author of the books “You Say Soccer, I Say Football” and “Community Heroes: What a year as an AmeriCorps VISTA member taught me about community development”. Looking for an intellectually stimulating gift to welcome the New Year? Then go ahead and gift any of my two books to a friend!

--

--