Video 20: Leadership in football

Edward Patrick Akinyemi
Edwardp.me
Published in
2 min readNov 25, 2020

Joe Iarocci of the executive coaching organization Cairnway estimated that in 2015 new books on leadership were being published at a rate of more than four per day. At the time of writing that article (October 2015), he also found that Amazon offered 57,136 books with the word leadership in it.

You can buy my book at edwardp.me/yousaysoccer (Credit: Graziani Multimedia LLC)

Somewhat counter-intuitively then, the final chapter in my book is about one of the most frequently discussed topics in the world: leadership. You must be tired of hearing about yet another person giving his opinion about this topic given that there’s clearly no lack of people giving opinions about leadership.

Video link: https://youtu.be/bEs8KxTY2t0

Nevertheless, I felt obliged to talk about my brief experience of being a leader (captain) of my football team. In the final chapter, I talk about a surprisingly difficult choice leaders face: being the type of leader that society says you should be or simply being a good leader for the team.

Next week Tuesday (December 1, 2020), my book will go live! Check out edwardp.me/yousaysoccer for more information!

See you, Space Cowboy.

--

--