Howdy From El Paso!

Da CouchPutater
Cowboys and Soldiers
1 min readDec 7, 2018

I decided to draw a picture depicting my grandpa during his time in El Paso, Texas to capture the character of his adventure.

My drawing shows a typical street of El Paso in the 1950’s which is when my grandpa was there. I wanted to show him wearing cowboy boots because of his desire to become a cowboy. I also wanted him to look out of place and I feel that his cowboy aesthetic seems very unusual in the drawing. I also wanted him to be the only person in the drawing because I think that speaks to the loneliness of traveling alone. I also thought the idea of a cowboy getting onto a street car was humorous and showed how ill prepared he was for what he wanted to do. I also wanted to show a cowboy on a more modern street which showed how outdated cowboys were even in the 1950s.

--

--