Week 6

Lauren Frazier
Crab King VR
Published in
2 min readJul 25, 2017

This week was a short week for me, as my normal flow was disrupted by a company retreat. I did manage to add title cards between each scene, however. I decided not to add the overworld, as it seems like overkill for a game without any choices for which level to progress to next.

I like the Tarantino-style font and the crab colored background. I created the screen using a Canvas element with the Render Mode set to Screen Space — Camera. I then added a Panel child and set the background color to a crab colored reddish-orange. Finally, I added a Text child to the Panel and set some placeholder text using the York Whiteletter font. Then I disabled the whole thing.

I then edited the GameManager to include a StartNewLevel(EnemyType type) method. The method sets the canvas to active and sets the text to the name of the crab specified by type. Then it calls the CreateNewCrab(EnemyType type) coroutine, which waits 3 seconds, then hides the canvas and spawns a new crab. Finally, I call the new StartNewLevel method from the Enemy class upon the death of a crab.

I also fixed the intro to make it more streamlined and clear. I used another Canvas, this time in World Space. I added a Panel and two Buttons, then disabled the Image component on the Panel (to get a clear background). The Start button triggers the Main scene, and the Credits button currently just logs to the console.

Last but not least, I began work on Analytics. I added an AnalyticsManager object/script that centralizes all the calls to UnityEngine.Analytics. After that, I added references to the AnalyticsManager when a level starts, and when the player dies.

Next week, I hope to add the Credits screen, and Win-Loss screens to the game. I also hope to add more Analytics events soon.

--

--