Week 8

Lauren Frazier
Crab King VR
Published in
2 min readAug 14, 2017

This week was pretty hectic, as I just got back to the US on Monday. I decided that this week I was going to learn to make cutscenes, and that’s exactly what I did.

I made a new scene called Intro, and started work on the cutscene. I had updated my Unity build to 2017.1, which enabled me to use the Timeline functionality (after watching a few tutorials). I started off by copying the Main scene so that I had an environment and a crab model. Then I used Timeline to make a movement animation of the crab approaching the user/camera. It’s a simple 2 keyframe animation that just moves the crab in a line while also animating the “forward walk” in a loop.

After that I downloaded the Speech Bubble Manager asset from the Asset Store, and set it up in my project. After a few minutes of setup, I added anchor points for the dialogue, and set up the manager to display the cutscene dialogue. Writing the dialogue was one of the hardest things I did this week. I got so used to coding that when it came time to use my “softer” skills, it took me a minute.

Finishing my first cutscene (even though it was very simple) really increased my confidence in my Unity skills, which is always good. Next week I hope to add the ability to skip the cutscene that I worked so hard to finish, and an Epilogue scene for when the user wins the game.

--

--