Picking Up Girls: John’s Method

Tien Skye
Cracked Pieces
Published in
1 min readMay 30, 2019
Image from Pixabay

He wanted to talk to the girl sitting by the pond. But she looked Asian so he was unsure if she would understand him.

Impulsively, he walked up to her.

“Hey, erm…do you speak English?” he started. “I’m John. I saw you were alone so I-erm, do you understand what I’m saying?” he broke off.

She had turned to look at him but gave no indication whether she understood.

He pointed to himself. “I’m John,” he spoke, excruciatingly slow. “Can I have lunch with you?”

“Solly, my Engrish bad,” she finally replied with a heavy Asian accent. “You want eat lunch? But no money?”

“Er…no, I-” he started but someone interrupted him.

“Excuse me, do you know where is the toilet?”

“Oh, go straight and turn left. You can’t miss it,” the girl replied.

Then turning back to John, she asked. “Solly, what you want?” she resumed her previous speech.

Originally posted on From the Window Seat.

--

--

Tien Skye
Cracked Pieces

has a bad habit of referring to himself in third person point of view...and he just did it again...