Full steam ahead

Lara Templemore-Walters
Nomads Of Code
Published in
2 min readNov 16, 2016

A steam train may be slow, but you have to give it credit where it is due and that it powers on and gets to its end point.

It’s been 2 months and two days since I completed the coding boot camp with Craft Academy and missing my teammates like crazy. I have been with Agile Ventures since I have graduated from Craft Academy and chugging along like a steam train, as my learning experience continues as a junior full stack developer.

I am working on 3 NGO projects through Agile Ventures, #LocalSupport a Website Application which supports members of the public searching for support groups for things like helping care for an elderly or sick relative; and also to help charities and non-profits find each other and network. #MetPlus system is a web platform where the Job Seekers and the Companies can find each other, and #SHF-Projects membership system for Sveriges Hundföretagare, a nation-wide organisation in Sweden for ethical dog-associates.

This new journey is really amazing, I have met people from around the globe, we all have similar goals: to code, to learn, to be better at coding and best of all, to help each other be better coders.

My understanding of TDD Ruby on Rails has got a “lot better”, my new task of Jasmine testing haunts me a bit, as much as I love JavaScript I still have so much to learn, but I will keep pushing on just like a steam train.

“I know I can, I know I can, I know I can” ~ Thomas the Tank Engine

Don’t give up, you can keep doing it!

--

--