Jumping in the deep end with no armbands

Lara Templemore-Walters
Nomads Of Code
Published in
2 min readSep 30, 2016

Well here I am 2 weeks after completing the 12-week online real-time coding bootcamp course with Craft Academy South Africa and Sweden and it still feels like yesterday I was sweating away at the keyboard trying to understand what I was doing. I still can’t believe that in 12 weeks I have learned to code, not like a champ yet, but that comes with practice like everything in life.

I have now joined Agile Ventures non-profit organisation dedicated to crowdsourced learning and project development, where I get to learn from other junior and senior developers around the globe and work on non-profit projects to keep growing my coding skills and learn as much as I can.

I am still finding my feet after jumping in the deep end with no armbands and swimming like hell, but starting to feel a little more confident in what I am doing even though I still have so much to learn.

If you looking to code then Craft Academy is the place to start, but make sure you have the time to do it, because if you don’t put aside the time to be part of the hangouts, the scrums/meetings and the pair programming you are going to be left behind hand and get very frustrated.

It’s just 12 weeks and it will change your life, it did mine!

--

--