What’s The Point Of Personality Tests?

Daren Smith
Craftsman Creative
Published in
2 min readJan 15, 2020

--

from 16personalities.com

In 2017 I took that 16 personalities test that gives you that series of letters to attach to your identity. I remember I even paid the $19 or whatever it was to purchase the in-depth analysis of my personality.

The thought at the time was that the more I know about myself the more I can become.

The problem, however, is that these personality tests only give us that one thing — knowledge.

Knowledge doesn’t change anything, it just means we understand something we didn’t understand before.

Don’t get me wrong, knowledge is great, but without action, execution, change, it doesn’t mean anything.

A month ago I went through a seminar in hopes to make some changes to my life. We took a different personality test. This one gave you elements to associate yourself with instead of titles or letters or colors or numbers. Woo!

What’s crazy, though, is that I was able to not only learn something new but assess how making new decisions and changes over that week-long seminar affected my results. I took that test again yesterday, and something changed.

I went from being “strong” in one to two areas and “weak” in the other three a month ago, to being fairly consistent across the board on this recent assessment. Not only that, my “weakest”…

--

--