Crane Cloud Internship: My Experience

Felix Wangota
Crane Cloud
Published in
2 min readSep 24, 2021

I partook in a 10-week remote internship at Crane Cloud. The company runs an open-source multi-cloud platform, providing services for deployment, management, and monitoring of cloud-native applications.

Onboarding

In the first two weeks, I learned the idea of Crane Cloud, teams, workflow, and tools used. I learned about Containerization, Kubernetes, and Deployment of cloud-native applications to Crane Cloud. At this point, I had already learned lots of new concepts, but we were only getting started.

Getting to work.

I got assigned to the frontend team, which develops the platform’s user interfaces. My work involved designing mockups in Figma and contributing to the implementation using React Js. I worked with the other interns and we were under the wings of the team’s more seasoned developers. We often synced up to discuss design ideas, solutions, tasks, and the bigger things like life. These sessions were engaging. I got to learn from brilliant minds and also connect more with the rest of the team. Work was in bi-weekly sprints with the deliverables getting demoed at the end of a sprint.

This internship ushered me into numerous concepts and technologies. I got proficient in Figma, learned development using ReactJs library, was introduced to containerization, Docker, Kubernetes, and CI/CD concepts, and had a boost in leadership, collaboration, and communication skills.

I am grateful for having been a part of the Crane Cloud team.

You can visit Crane Cloud at cranecloud.io. Watch the space because Crane Cloud is doing some amazing things!

--

--

Felix Wangota
Crane Cloud

Junior Developer | Software Engineering Undergrad