Muwonge Khalifan
Crane Cloud
Published in
2 min readSep 9, 2021

--

  • The Crane Cloud Experience
Crane Cloud logo

For the past two and a half months, I had the opportunity to work with some of the top developers around Kampala at Crane Cloud during my internship.

Crane Cloud Intro

Crane Cloud is an open-source multi-cloud software platform that for cloud-native application deployment and management. They use the Kubernetes engine to ensure users never get downtime and automate application rollouts and rollbacks. All you need to do is containerize your application and deploy but very soon you’ll be able to just upload the folder with your app 😉 . You can as well choose to host your database with Crane Cloud, rest assured they will manage your entire project and offer you monitoring metrics for each project plus the project resources’(apps, database) metrics.

For information more check it out here.

My Crane Cloud internship experience

If I could describe my time at crane cloud in just a word, that word would be “cool” 😎. The entire team was so welcoming and throughout my internship, they were supportive, encouraging, provided guidance wherever it was required and they conduct themselves professionally while at the same time being down to earth.

I took on various amazing task while there which was challenging and educative, I believe that some of the best ways to learn are by taking on a worthy challenge and Crane Cloud is never short of those. It always gave me a push whenever I finished my task or a task I was attached to with a team. I achieved a lot in terms of Knowledge while at Crane Cloud including:

  • Extensive use of ReactJs framework and JavaScript.
  • Kubernetes technologies.
  • An understanding of the flask python framework.
  • Use of docker.
  • Containerization.
  • CI/CD concepts.
  • GitHub version control.
  • Use of agile development methodologies
  • Dev-Ops engineering.
  • And many more

Am so thank full to crane cloud for the opportunity to be better in the field that I want my career to base and for inspiring me on my journey to becoming a dev-Ops engineer.

I would recommend any developer out there to create their account and start deploying projects to the Crane Cloud. You will not regret it. In the same spirit, I would also like to encourage those that want to apply for internship or dev-Ops opportunities to try out Crane Cloud

Register with Crane Cloud

This platform is the first of its kind in 🇺🇬

Check this for more guidance on how to explore the crane cloud platform

--

--

Muwonge Khalifan
Crane Cloud

Am a software developer currently doing my degree in Computer Science at Makerere University