Internet Fame is the New Wealth — and It’s Worthless

Neville "Paco" Pancham
Crossroads Church
Published in
4 min readMar 21, 2018

Some people will do anything for internet fame, even the dumbest of things. I heard a story recently of a guy who stole Frances McDormand’s Oscar and then recorded himself on Facebook thanking his “fans” and kissing the Oscar for best actress. My first reaction was LOL, then WTF? This dude stole an award and flaunted it like it was his on the internet. Sadly, he’s not the only one faking a life online. In many ways, it feels like the entire world is jockeying for notoriety on the web. Everyone is trying to gain a following and uphold an image. Now, I love the digital era as much as the next guy, but I can’t ignore just how much people think of themselves in the online world.

Seems like the idea of actually being who you say you are is a thing of the past. Do Fit Tea models even use the stuff? Wait, does Fit Tea even work? Who do you know that uses Fit Tea? Don’t answer that. We’ve replaced actual advice with “original” motivational quotes paired with photos of celebs who clearly did not say those things. And let’s not forget money phones. God bless the money phones. What’s a money phone, you ask? You aren’t alone — every person reading this over 35 just asked the same question. It’s basically people posing with stacks of money held to their ears like an old cellphone and then using their new(ish) cellphone to take a photo of themselves and posting it online. Cool, huh? (That’s sarcasm for those who are bad at sarcasm.)

It’s like the internet is another universe! This new economic system of social media is really about our obsession with attention. We all want to be noticed and showcased in a positive light. Problem is, many of us have believed the lie that quick success is always good success. So, instead of going out and getting actual money, many settle for a photo of themselves holding a stack of what could be fake money. Not cool. (That’s not sarcasm for those who are bad at sarcasm.)

God has shown me two things regarding this new phenomenon of internet wealth. First, it’s a bad idea to think of myself more highly than I ought to. Don’t get me wrong, I have pretty good self-esteem (too good if you ask any of my ex-girlfriends). I’m a good-looking, brown, smart child of God, and he’s given me the gift of gab. All that being true, it doesn’t negate the fact that if I’m not careful, those gifts and good things will puff me up and give me a sense of confidence in what I can accomplish, instead of what God can accomplish. The Bible calls this pride, and it often shows up in someone’s life before they screw something up. To prevent this in my life, I always remember that my gifts are exactly that: gifts. They are given to me by a good gift giver, God, who wants me to use them for the good of others and to further his purposes with them. So, if you are about to “put that money to your ear,” think it through. You might be trying to look a certain part to get an award in an economic system that doesn’t really pay out.

The second thing God has shown me about the internet economy is that there is no substitute for work. You either do it or you don’t. You work, good stuff happens. (Eventually.) You don’t, and you stay in the same spot, no matter what your social media followers might think. I want the wealth that would allow me to hold up real stacks of money to my ear with ease. I know I can’t have that type of wealth without work, so I work! It’s that simple. But I also submit to what God says about money.

God uses money to fuel impact. The impact I want my money to have is on those who come from less fortunate situations. I’m thinking housing for parents after incarceration, abuse situations, or just people who need a break in order to break even. I’m also thinking money for my friends and family to chase their dreams. My sister is having twins and those babies will need dope stuff from their uncle. The Bible tells me that these things are good with God. So, instead of posting about them online or looking for the big break, I got to work. Second job? No problem! Sell off some old stuff that is still in good shape? Sure! I am willing to do whatever it takes to make that happen, except sell Fit Tea or steal Oscars.

My encouragement is to not get caught in an internet wealth that is actually worthless. Cutting from the obsession of comparison will allow who you say you are and who you actually are to line up. Connecting to your godly obsessions — the ones that will impact the world — will allow you to put down the money phones and get to work.

--

--