The Importance of Personal Branding

Grace Dwyer
cre8ivgraceblog
Published in
3 min readSep 1, 2020

In 2017, I began an Instagram page (@cre8iv.grace) where I posted my photography. I must admit: some of my photos, in the beginning, were not of the best quality. As the months and next couple of years went on, I saw a good improvement. I have even been featured on a couple of New Jersey travel pages.

This photo (“Wooden Path in the Woods”) was taken on March 2, 2019. It was featured on just_newjersey

Though I’ve always had a passion for photography, I soon discovered in 2018 that I had a love for poetry as I was going through some challenges in life. It became a good way for me to draw closer to the Lord and learn more about myself. Most of the poetry I was writing sat in my journal for a while, but I decided this year (2020) to post some of them on the account. My poetry is based on personal experience and from lessons I’ve learned along the way. I would say that it is faith-based and I tie in the glory of God in my pieces.

One of my favorite poems that I’ve written :)

My photography page (formerly @cre8ivgracephotos) soon turned into a poems and photos page (@cre8iv.grace) this year. It took me two months to think of how I would bring about change to my page. I created a new logo through an app called Over, and I came up with a new mission statement and slogan as well!

The new logo for my creative Instagram page, @cre8iv.grace

Personal branding is key when you are trying to reach target audiences. You need to have a distinguishable name, color scheme, and logo. These little details matter more than you know. Even the font you decide to use in the logo needs to appeal to the audience. Though my following on Instagram is rather small, I always want to make a good impression on anyone who is browsing through my page. I want them to leave it feeling fulfilled and joyful. Whatever type of page you are running on any social media site, (whether it is personal, art, traveling, or lifestyle) your posts need to reflect your personality and gifts.

My page’s new motto: DREAM. CREATE. INSPIRE.

So far, my creative journey on social media has been a gradual and steady one. As a Strategic Communications graduate student, I have gained a lot of knowledge along the way, and I only look forward to bettering my personal brand in the near future.

--

--

Grace Dwyer
cre8ivgraceblog

Believer, Graduate Student, Runner, and Coffee Connoisseur