How To Be A Digital Minimalist

11 no-nonsense tips for simplicity

Josh Spilker
Create Make Write

--

Photo by Bench Accounting on Unsplash

One of my favorite books is Freedom of Simplicity by Richard Foster.

Foster’s book focuses on both inner simplicity (inner peace, focus on God) and outer simplicity (lifestyle changes, reducing material excess) and that both are necessary for a balanced and spiritually enriched life.

But, that book was originally written in the 1980s and probably couldn’t fathom the modern conundrum of today’s digital tools.

I wouldn’t say I’m an expert at digital minimalism, but I try to think about what I’m doing and actively try not to pull out my phone immediately in times of boredom.

Below are some straightforward tips to consider if you’re feeling constantly distracted by that supercomputer in your pocket.

You can reclaim your time and attention by starting now.

1. Know Your Screen Time

First, get real about your phone habits.

Track your usage and pinpoint the time-sucks. Your phone’s got built-in tools for this — use them.

When you see those hours adding up, it’s a wake-up call.

Here’s my screen time average from my iPhone while I’m writing this article.

--

--