What You Need To Actually Do To Take Notes Regularly

Josh Spilker
Create Make Write
Published in
4 min readAug 8, 2024

--

Photo by Icons8 Team on Unsplash

You know that feeling when a great idea hits you out of nowhere? It’s exciting, right?

But here’s the catch: If you’re not ready, that idea can disappear just as quickly as it arrived.

And let’s be honest — our brains aren’t exactly reliable storage units.

That’s why you need a system to capture those fleeting thoughts.

Enter: regular note-taking.

But don’t worry, I’m all about keeping things simple, because the simpler it is, the more likely you are to actually do it.

1. Keep It Simple

Find tools that work for you, not against you.

When I first started taking notes, I got caught up in finding the “perfect” tool. I wasted a lot of time bouncing between apps, notebooks, and methods.

Here’s what I learned: The best tool is the one you’ll actually use.

For me, that’s a legal pad for jotting down quick thoughts and Notion for organizing them later.

--

--