I Hate Revising. I Love Revising.

Why Revision is So Important in the Writing Process

Josh Spilker
Create Make Write

--

Photo by Simon on Unsplash

Revision is incredibly important and way different from editing.

Before I dive into why my love-hate relationship with revising, let’s make a clear distinction between editing and revising:

Editing:

  • Checking grammar and punctuation
  • Spelling
  • Word choice
  • Line editing
  • Proper linking and sourcing
  • Rewriting for clarity

Revision:

  • Story structure
  • Expressing key details
  • Consistent style
  • Great detail and supporting points
  • Sentence flow
  • Rewriting for the intended purpose: (i.e., narrative storytelling, sales page, short story, argument)

Why I Hate Revising

  1. It feels like my first thought was wrong
  2. It’s too much work to move stuff around
  3. I don’t want to think critically

Why I Love Revising

  1. It improves my writing

--

--