How To Turn Random Ideas into Polished Pieces in 10 Steps

My process for writing 699 Medium articles

Josh Spilker
Create Make Write

--

Photo by Alexis Brown on Unsplash

Well, here’s something.

Once I hit publish on this Medium article, I’ll be at 700.

To mark that milestone, I’m going to break down my general process.

My Medium posts

In addition to whatever I write here on Medium, I’ve also written and edited hundreds of blog articles for SaaS companies and have worked with dozens of freelance writers.

Here’s the general process.

1. Capture Ideas

Start by capturing all your random ideas as they come to you. Use a dedicated notebook, note-taking app, or even voice memos to record these ideas. Don’t worry about organizing them at this stage — the goal is to capture what comes to mind. I suggest creating 10 ideas a day that could be articles for you.

You can use this free Notion template to get started with that.

2. Review and Reflect

Once you’ve made your list for the day, take a look and decide which topic to write an article about. You…

--

--