The Blank Page is Intimidating. I’m Right There With You. Maybe This Will Help?

Josh Spilker
Create Make Write
Published in
3 min readDec 15, 2020

--

“I can fix a bad page. I can’t fix a blank page.” ~ Nora Roberts

Photo by Kamila Maciejewska on Unsplash

Hey, even though there’s been a massive pandemic, I did something I never thought I would do.

Actually, it’s something I didn’t do.

I didn’t write. Not much at all. (Lie #1)

That’s not entirely true. I wrote for my job, I wrote for employers, but I didn’t write for me.

To be honest, this hasn’t happened to me for a long time. (Lie #2)

Wait…It happened to me in 2019, too.

Now you’re starting to see a pattern.

Once, I was a person who wrote almost every day on this very platform, a person who wrote 2 kinda 3 novels, a few smaller chapbooks, and then….

I didn’t write at all creatively in 2020. (Lie #3)

There’s not much to say, really. I have all the normal excuses. You don’t need to hear them. You know them. They are your excuses too.

Okay, this isn’t entirely true either. I did write, more at the beginning of the paandemic. I wrote by hand, trying out a new novel. I haven’t touched it since July. (This part is true).

--

--