You Can Be A Broken Record.

Until Everyone Takes Action.

Josh Spilker
Create Make Write
2 min readSep 12, 2016

--

“Sounds like a broken record.”

I never really got that phrase until I got a record player.

Sometimes records get stuck in a groove.

And when this happens, the notes repeat themselves, you have to get up and move the needle.

As a writer or creator, sometimes it feels like I’m repeating myself. That I say the same stuff in a slightly different way. Or that I’m nervous about writing on the same themes again and again, even though there’s a different angle or that I’m really interested in that theme.

But the reality is that no one will read everything I write. No one will read everything you write. It’s almost impossible. And if someone does, that person won’t mind if you repeat yourself. They’ll love it.

You can be known for certain themes and ideas.

But the best way to stop a broken record? To take action. To move someone to get up and do something about it.

Maybe that’s why we feel like people are repeating themselves. Because no one is taking action to change the themes you’re concerned about.

Taking action is the only way to stop the record.

What did you think? If you liked this post, please recommend it!

I’m Josh Spilker and I blog about writing and books. For more like this, sign up for my newsletter here.

--

--