José Deichmann: "The concept of 'making it' has more to do with being at peace with yourself"

Camila Beaumord
creatheory
Published in
6 min readSep 4, 2018

Who: José Deichmann
What: Founder and filmmaker — Âme Wedding Films
Where: Balneario Camboriu, Brazil
How: I met José in high school and, through social media, found out that he had started his own business making amazing wedding videos (and a bunch of people happy).

So we haven't talked since high school! Back then, did you have a clear understanding of what you wanted to be when you grew up?

Oh, no. Not at all. It took me a while to figure out what I wanted to do professionally. Before I found myself, I applied to different colleges, switched majors, but nothing really stuck. I kind of went with the flow with what everyone around me was doing, but was miserable in every attempt.

Do you think young people are pressured into defining their lives too soon?

For sure! I believe we should graduate high school and take a couple of years off, you know, take a break and get some perspective on life. I know guidance counselors often help and I submitted myself to many aptitude tests, but to be honest, they did me more harm than good.

Everyone develops at their own pace.

There are people who find themselves at a young age, others who are still wandering at 40. I spent a lot of time and money chasing dreams that weren’t even mine.

What got you on the right track?

I dropped out of college when I realized it wasn’t helping me. Back then, my cousin owned a design studio and offered me a job as a temp. I did a little bit of everything in the first three months, and then coincidently the print production manager quit. So I took her position.

What did you learn there?

It was a real school for me. I worked with some incredible people, absorbing all the creative flows around me and making a decent living. I got into graphic design just by watching the designers work; I went to school for it at some point, but I’m mostly self-taught. I developed an aesthetic, a sense of style, which is important for me to this day. It was also where I got to play around with a professional camera for the first time, since the studio owned a Canon 40D. It motivated me to buy my own equipment. To earn a little extra money, I started taking party photos at clubs on the side — my town has a very popular club scene.

Why did you leave?

Well, the party business started picking up, and it was a blast! I realized that I was having more fun taking pictures and processing images than my work at the studio. I did the math and decided to try freelancing. It worked for a while, but I wasn’t well known yet, at least not enough to have a steady cash flow. For some reason, I got it in my head that I needed to gain experience at a large advertising agency in order to “make it”. Just another misconception of a young creative, I guess.

Did you find work in advertising?

Yes, I applied for a position at a renowned ad agency in my state, moved to a different city and genuinely believed I had made it. That feeling lasted about… a week. I didn’t adapt to the city, the overall mood at the agency was terrible, at least, I didn’t feel very welcomed. It was pretty obvious that I was at the wrong place.

I quickly identified that money doesn’t buy happiness, that the concept of “making it” has more to do with being at peace with yourself and your loved ones than anything else.

At the end of my three-month contract, I quit and never looked back. As I settled back home, I remember hoping I would never be put in a tough financial spot that would force me to go back to that life. I really focused on freelancing then, making a name for myself and opening my own company. I learned I have a problem with authority figures; I have a hard time managing my creativity when I’m being told what to do or how to do it.

It’s interesting that you mention issues with authority figures, and yet you invested in a solo career. Let’s be honest: clients are even more demanding than bosses!

Oh, I’m not denying that! (laughs) At first I worked with graphic design and had fixed contracts with my clients. In other words, I was paid a monthly fee and was available to them for whatever demands they might have. It’s pretty common practice, but it was tough for me, I got very anxious. Interestingly enough, as I began questioning that system, I started getting work in fashion. That changed everything.

How so?

I started filming fashion videos. My first attempt was a real turning point — I shot the video, edited in record time, posted it online and got a major response from the audience. The client liked the product from the start, unlike when I created logos, for example, and came home after a presentation meeting with a million changes to my idea. So it felt like “easy money” to me, because it was effortless.

I had found a way to work that worked for me.

At that moment, I gave up graphic design and started working solely with video. With the money I earned, I invested in better equipment. This was back in 2014, so it wasn’t that long ago!

What made you launch a video production company specialized in wedding films?

When I started working with fashion, I figured it must be a lot of fun to do a photo shoot with couples. That’s how Âme, our company, began to come to life for me. I planned out what kind of work we would deliver, what my editing style would be, what type of music would fit. I spent a year just dreaming about it, working out the details in my mind.

In October 2016, a buddy of mine was getting married and I asked him if he’d mind if I took some pictures of the ceremony. Actually, I asked if his film crew would have a problem with me. And he replied that he hadn’t hired anybody to shoot the wedding!

So I took the hint. I said I’d film the ceremony for free, just for the experience, and that I would give them the finished product as part of our wedding gift. I had a great time, the event was beautiful, and I managed to edit and send it to him a week later. He posted it online; I did the same thing. People then started asking me about this type of work on Instagram. And it just grew from there!

I believe that there are people who are naturally talented and people who are hard-workers and really make the effort. I fall in the second category.

Today you and your wife work at Âme full-time, and you hire assistants for specific jobs. Do you plan on expanding?

Not at all. That’s not our goal. I know some people dream of having a big office and 50 guys working for them… but for that to make sense in our format, we would have to find 50 guys who shoot like me, who have a similar editing style. It just doesn’t add up.

If that’s not your dream, what is it?

I’ve always wanted to be recognized for my craft. Building a name for yourself takes work. At first, clients come to you because they have a need. They need a logo, they need pictures, they need a fashion video. In order to satisfy that need, they can come to you or to any of the thousands of creative professionals out there. Eventually, if you work hard and are patient enough, you can change this around. You can make clients come for your work, for your aesthetic, for your sensibility.

They hire you because of what only you can offer them. That’s why I can’t outsource what I do, nor would I want to.

How did you reach this level of fulfillment?

I was very, very patient. I set out to work as a freelancer in 2011 — if anyone had told me then how long it would take for me to truly find myself, that I would go through graphic design, fashion photography and finally launch my own wedding video production company… I mean, I would have given up!

So patience is key, as well as focus. I have very high standards. After I’m done with a piece, whatever it is, I look it over and think, “is this something I will be proud to showcase on my portfolio?”

When you first start out, you don’t always get the privilege to do the work you believe in. It’s with patience and focus that you get there.

--

--

Camila Beaumord
creatheory

I take notes when smart people talk and spread the word at creatheory.com