Coming for the Throne: Final Project

Zain Majid
creating immersive worlds
2 min readNov 20, 2018

Thrust into the middle of Alaska’s Aurora Borealis, my game is a first person shooter consisting of obstacles including skillfully scaling difficult mountain landscapes, shooting down camouflaged enemies, and aptly maneuvering your way around pits in which you can plummet to your death. The goal? Shooting down the enemy flag at the top of the enemy castle and reclaiming victory to your kingdom.

I’ve always been fascinated with the magical colors of the Northern Lights and I tried to bring it to life as best as I could in the game. In terms of the landscape, I attempted to recreate the snowy mountains of Alaska. After further research into the Alaska landscape, I used the landscaping tools to create ridges and pits in the mountains, thus making it more lifelike.

After working on the landscape, I created the enemy flag on the tallest peak of the mountains. The player is arbitrarily placed at any point of the landscape and must find their way up to the castle to shoot down the flag. Once done, they win the game.

My biggest shortfall was in creating the camouflaged enemies. I initially was going to create a coin system where the amount of coins respectively translated into the points bar on the top right of the screen but having enemies shooting at you and bringing down your health definitely fit my theme better. I had figured out how to use the robots that Unreal Engine already had but I had trouble in creating a mesh which allowed them to shoot at the player and thus bring down his or her health.

I built my game on the Asus monitor(with the eyes on it) with the Oculus headset on the desk. In order to quickly find it, you can click the Unreal Engine shortcut on the desktop, and then from the Content Browser, open up “ZainFinal1.”

I’ve included videos of gameplay to this post, as well. Please let me know if you have any more questions!

--

--