Mehru Nisa Javed Raja
creating immersive worlds
3 min readSep 9, 2018

--

Describing my experience of playing Sims 3

A few years back I used to see my friends playing Sims 3 and if they would ask me at that time to play the game I would say that I do not have time for such a boring and dull game. I believe, these would have been my words because I really never got a chance to play the game and instead I just assumed.

After playing the game I can clearly say that it is one of the most addicting games I have played so far. I liked the game for several reasons and the two major reasons are that I loved making/building houses and creating the characters of my choice and then playing their stories. Moreover, I also find it quite interesting because the developers have made the game so risk free that we can do anything we want with little or no consequences at all. For instance, if we do a wrong act or bully someone we would be able to fix it in a blink of an eye. I also, think that it was really interesting for me that I could take upon any role and I always wanted to be a cop in real life (in my childhood) so I feel like this game gave me an opportunity to fulfill my lifelong desire of being a cop. I also took the high-class jobs in the game which made it a lot of fun as in the game I got to experience different scenarios.

In Sims 3 the town is open which had a deep influence on the aspects of community as we can easily call other sims through mobile phones but if someone wants to go out then they can go to the house of the other sims and directly familiarize themselves. There is also a possibility to travel to the houses of other sims such as parks, graveyards and beaches and if you go to a place at the right time then more entertainment is in stored for you. Thus, it would lead to more socialization.

This game is also quite different than the other ones based on the daily lives of the sims. In this game sims do not have to go constantly to the bathroom like the older versions instead sims juts need to go once a day and that could also be reduced. Moreover, this game is based on a lot of management of time as the sims need to struggle between their lifelong and daily goals.

I believe, the major reason for the game addiction could also be due to the enormous amount of content which is stored in the game which makes the users(us) very inclines towards the game and the overall, virtual community of the game. Moreover, this game makes us tied to the computer because of the possibility of betterment such as gaining more rewards i.e better floor, house etc. Also, the language of sims which is Gibberish and different from ours makes it quite interesting too because that makes us feel more comfortable doing whatever we want to and there would be no one to judge us and we are an alien to that world.

The mods in the game such as, Master Controller, Story Progression,Woohooer, Vampire, Harry Potter etc. also made the other users and especially me really immersed in game. I really like Master Controller because it could pretty much help us change the entire town according to our wants. If we click on a person, we could style them or edit them completely.

I think overall, Sims franchise did a great job in making the users forget all their problems and just get immersed in the game.

--

--