Week 2 | One Button Game Prototype

Ashley F
creating immersive worlds
2 min readSep 17, 2018

This week, I devised a one button game and made a prototype in Unreal Engine.

I decided I wanted the player to be able to use the space bar, but not with only one thing to do. To accomplish this, I decided that the player would be able to double tap, single tap, or hold down the space bar to perform different moves in the game.

I sketched it out here:

Here are my slides and document reflecting all of the game’s parts:

Here is the same thing, just in a document format.

Using the Unreal Engine was pretty easy. I had to relearn a few things, but I was able to do almost everything I wanted. One thing I did have an issue with was the double pressing of the space bar. I didn’t know what function to use. I tried looking on YouTube for some answers, but none of the videos I watched really explained what was going on. My next step for this game to come to life would be the double pressing option. After that, I need to add the moving arms, the soccer balls, and finally the aesthetics.

--

--