Is Now the Right Time for You to Try Yoga?

If you’ve been thinking about trying to get in shape, may I suggest that you try yoga?

John Oden
Creating Value
3 min readDec 29, 2017

--

CC0 Creative Commons Image

We recently released a free yoga program which allows you to work out every day from the comfort of your own home. If you are new to yoga, here are some of the benefits you can expect from starting a daily practice:

Increased Fitness

You are going to get into better shape if you do a yoga workout every day. What I’ve noticed is that success is more about establishing a consistent routine so your workout actually happens. Remember that even a less intense workout that you actually complete is far healthier for your body than a more intense workout that you never actually do. I also like that yoga focuses on my whole body, rather than primarily being isolated on one specific part of the body, which is an issue I’ve run into with some other activities.

Healthier Body

Yes, having an increased level of fitness will make your body healthier. But what I mean here is that I have a physical sensation of health. After my yoga practice, my blood experientially feels like it’s moving through my body more easily. It’s a nice feeling!

More Positivity

Working out every day is statistically correlated with increased production of happy chemicals inside of your body. It’s actually a very predictable phenomenon. No matter what your existing circumstances, in some sense you have a choice as to how you are going to see your situation and how you are going to respond. Yoga puts you in a position to respond to whatever life throws at you with patience. I often notice that I’m feeling particularly good in terms of my generalized sense of well-being at the end of my yoga practice. I also notice my default happiness level seems to be higher than before.

Less Stress, More Calm

Yoga has an interesting way of increasing your focus on the present moment. You learn to release worry loops about the future which aren’t helping you access any meaningful solutions for your life. You learn to not dwell on problematic memories from your past for no productive reason. You have begun training your mind, like a muscle, to be focused on the present. In addition, the yoga practice also seems to turbocharge my mediation practice, which is again about focusing on the present moment and reaching increasingly deep states of calm each day.

Pain Prevention

Because of yoga, I’m feeling less pain in my body from both stress and minor injuries. Now that I’m a calmer person, my body doesn’t have to store all that rage and frustration that I used to carry around about various matters in my life. I’ve also strengthened my muscles so that it’s more difficult to injure myself. Now that I’m not experiencing these minor injuries, I can see that they used to be a major source of physical pain in my life.

Concluding Thoughts

Yoga is a really cool way to exercise, which also has the unique ability to transform you into a more centered and calm version of yourself. Now that we’ve released our free online program, you can try yoga out from the convenience of your home. Now is a great time to take action to put your body in a position to feel amazing!

If you enjoyed this article, please press the clapping icon so that more people can see it. Thank you so much!

--

--

John Oden
Creating Value

Passionate About Helping People Build Healthy, Happy, Ecologically Regenerative Lives