Dear Woman Who was Cheated on

Angelica Salinas
Creating our path
Published in
1 min readJan 15, 2014

This was not your fault. Perhaps you’ve made mistakes in life before, and maybe you could have done things differently, but this will never be your fault. So let me help you lift that burden off your shoulders. There is no guilt to be felt here. Only hope.

I am here. Let me hold you while you cry. My shoulder is yours. My arms are yours. The sleeve on my shirt is yours. Know that you are not alone, and never will be. I will not pretend to know your hurt, but I can comfort and I can listen.

You are stunning. The ability to fully give oneself to another is truly a gift; please do not turn your back on that. You are free. Free from a life that would have been a lie. Free from a partner who doesn’t know love — who doesn’t deserve it. Free to explore and learn and ultimately find peace.

Here, take my hand. Now we stand. Your legs will be wobbly, but are not gone. Lean on me. Now we walk. With each step, you gain strength. Not your old strength, but a new one. A more powerful strength than you’ve ever known.

Now we run. We stretch our legs and feel the wind hit our face. Let go of me, because now you fly. Not alone, but indepentent. Your life will move in directions hitherto unexplored by you. Because you have gotten up, and you are worthy.

With love,

Angelica

--

--

Angelica Salinas
Creating our path

I have been shark cage diving off the coast of South Africa. I am a writer. Follow my journey: @anneerae