iPhone Amp

Mirratrix
Creationist
Published in
4 min readOct 4, 2016

Thursday, October 6: 2nd project is a passive sound amplifier for my iPhone (with case included). My inspiration for this project came from the desire to have better sound from my iPhone 5S without having to carry around a heavy electronic speaker. Because of this, I aimed to design a portable amp that was specific to my phone in that in fit with the dimensions of my phone case, so I would not have to remove that. Some issues I have run into so far are the dimensions of the design and assuring that I have the correct proportions in my first prototype before making the final product with aesthetics included.

Pictured below are sketches, measurements, and screenshots of my first prototype which will be printed shortly.

Monday, October 10, 2016: First prototype finished printing (pictured below). The stands on the back are a bit fragile, so I replaced those with a sturdier model and made the mouth of the amp curved so that sound will hopefully be more amplified. Also made small measurement changes in order to have a tighter fit. Screenshots of second prototype below. It is currently waiting to be printed.

Monday, October 24, 2016: Second Prototype finished printing (pictured below). Unforetunately, phone is still not fitting snugly enough and sound still leaks. However, the rest of the model (aside from the home button opening) is functioning well and the necessary changes (along with some aesthetic alterations) have been made to the third prototype (pictured below) which is waiting to be printed.

Thursday, November 3, 2016: Third prototype have finished (pictured below). Also attempted to make a size for iPhone 5(s) without case so that others could use it. Dimensions were slightly off, which will be fixed in fifth (and hopefully final) prototype. Aside from that, mostly everything else is finished save for the home button. I attempted to fillet the edge even more (picture) in order for easier home button access. Amp with case dimensions on right, no case on left.

Wednesday, November 9, 2016: Final prototype has finished (as well as non-case version). Dimensions are a perfect fit, sound is well-amplified, amp stands on it’s own with no wobbling, and the home button is accessible. This project was a success. We have come far. Pictures below.

--

--