A List Management Anthem Courtesy of Trik Turner

A Misheard Black Sheep Parody

Creative Analytics
Published in
3 min readAug 26, 2016

--

Some call me a tester,
Some call me an analyst,
Some say I’m a useful
Data scientist
Cause all I try to do … oops, wrong song

Here we go y’all… here we go y’all

Who’s in the test group, what’s the test type
Not wantin’ to retest got to set the pops right
I built a random digit so never fear
You still don’t know the tricks so just listen here
Test A on the odd’s Test B on the two’s
Filter out the outliers like you’s
Last middle to the top decile
You want a good test better do profiles
Of each group, can I get a lift, can I get a score
Can I get a benchmark you know I need that more
The styling and creative, are tested verse the natives
This can’t be violated, lifts must be duplicated
I got news from finance, the number crunching guys
You know its no surprise they like their lifts high
Ask these things, what, when, how?
Mr. Analyst repeat the test right now.
I know you’ve heard the others want more leads discovered
But then again the choice is yours.

You can a/b test or you can test/control
You can compare results or put a pop on hold
You should know both cause testing should be bold

Where’s the trick at, here’s the best
And even if you wanted to you can’t rush a test
Watch reads swing like this, watch reads swing like that
Because in fact daily reads
Will bias well-aged facts— therefore, I ignore
I do as I know as I trust in stats
They got my back tonight. You know what I’m sayin’ yo’
Tricks I ain’t play’n it’s easy to roll
With spin than to roll with facts
With no delay and see an actuality to one
It can not be, I made it look easy because it is to me
Anytime list size was challenged, tried to stop it.
Anytime marketing made us change, tried to block it.
Never did it wrong so I finished strong
Never seen us sweat, and you never
Seen us schooled, out to test the world
Right here from my desk, don’t filter results
And we don’t adjust the tests, gotta go gotta go
Gotta go, gotta go. See you later by the stats
And you can’t beat that without facts

You can a/b test or you can test/control
You can compare results or put a pop on hold
You should know both cause testing should be bold

Source code source code digits ten on that matrixed
Testing plan, if my test goes off the track
Throw it out throw it out throw it out
Back on the scene, now the list is clean
You can try but don’t lie because you can’t get with me
We be the experts, can test first, and find worth
Let this test rip and see the results, read
Open your minds you best believe we’re sliding through
Quickly, niftily we can make it hip to be
Down with this test with two list files
Drop what you thought until you read a trial.
Finding ROI

So now I build test cause I’m the true player
Hold your coat cause I am the list creator
Fill the P&L with trusted data
Data Scientist gets hired by great innovators
Never the traitor marketing campaigner
And you can get your proof later

You can a/b test or you can test/control
You can compare results or put a pop on hold
You should know both cause testing should be bold

--

--

Creative Analytics

FKA Corsair's Publishing - Articles that engage, educate, and entertain through analogies, analytics, and … occasionally, pirates!