Customer Feedback — A Love Song Perspective

Inspiration for remembering the importance of feedback

Decision-First AI
Creative Analytics
Published in
3 min readFeb 9, 2016

--

Whether your business is about products or services, relationships or experiences. Whether a start up or a long train runnin’. You have likely come to value feedback. Because in the words of the Doobie Brothers:

Without Feedback, Where Would You Be Now?

Ok, well not exactly… But now you are starting to get the idea of this article. And I suspect that if you made it this far, you are willing to give me a little leeway. So…

What’s Love Got to Do with It?

Well to continue to quote the Private DancerIt may seem to you that I’m acting confused, but there’s a phrase that fits. Love is feedback. If you substitute Feedback for Love in many popular songs, you can gain perspective on many challenges. And you will have a song in your head to boot… so warning: click wisely.

Much like love, all of us react to feedback in different ways. Joe Cocker may have gone a little far…

Feedback Lifts Us Up Where We Belong

And in a time where feedback is available like never before, David Bowie may have been a little too fearful…

(Modern Feedback)… Terrifies Me

And Iggy Azalea was just plain angry…

F**k Feedback

Perhaps when it comes to Feedback, Iggy should have realized she was simply suffering a Bad Romance. Lady Gaga provides us a little perspective…

I want your ugly
I want your disease
I want your everything
As long as it’s free
I want your feedback

I won’t prattle on about the value of negative feedback, as I have other articles on that. But going back to our friend Ziggy Stardust, why does feedback make so many of us nervous? For a good explanation we can turn to the legendary Burt Bacharach…

What the world needs now is feedback, sweet feedback
It’s the only thing that there’s just too little of
What the world needs now is feedback, sweet feedback
No, not just for some but for everyone

Fear arises when we go some time without feedback. Surprises are often scary and a world without feedback is full of them. But that feedback must also be trustworthy. If we spend too much time exposed to only rose-colored feedback, honest criticism is still likely to shock us. If you are unfortunate enough to find yourself in this situation, be sure not to get all Trump-ity. You may become the Elephant in the room… all puns intended.

Feedback makes us act like we are fools

As we build new products and new experiences, we must strive to maximize our exposure to feedback. Our websites, products, and applications must sound like Gene Simmons…

I was made for givin’ feedback to you baby
You were made for givin’ feedback to me
And I can’t get enough of you baby
Can you get enough of me

People are made for both giving and receiving feedback. We do it all the time… that pun just happened. When we lack the feedback we need, we invent it. Your businesses needs a steady Supply

And I don’t know how you do it
Making feedback out of nothing at all

Worse still, that can only last so long. Eventually it may be too late…

I’m all out of feedback, I’m so lost without you
I know you were right believing for so long
I’m all out of feedback, what am I without you
I can’t be too late to say that I was so wrong

So to end this strange little journey, as you sit in your product review meetings, edit your wireframes, or design your next service-remember this blog or at least this Cheap Trick

I want you to give me feedback
I need you to give me feedback
I’d love you to give me feedback
I’m begging you to give me feedback

--

--

Decision-First AI
Creative Analytics

FKA Corsair's Publishing - Articles that engage, educate, and entertain through analogies, analytics, and … occasionally, pirates!