“I hustle like my name is Gary Vee”

Patrick Farrell
Creative Collisions
3 min readFeb 25, 2018

Today I met Gary Vaynerchuk. If you don’t yet know who he is, he’s a bit of a legend in the entrepreneurial community and just finished his new book called Crushing It.

That’s why he was there, he offered a free book signing at his father’s wine store in New Jersey, Wine Library. This is a place and a business that Gary personally helped build, and I was blown away by it. Such a gorgeous store in Morristown, New Jersey.

But it’s Gary’s new world approach to business that has turned him into the internet famous entrepreneurial success that he is. He has a no bullshit, everyone struggles mindset. He knows that being an entrepreneur is hard, he knows that everyone tries to make excuses for why they can’t succeed, but he knows that they can do it anyway.

The smart phone in your pocket and the internet have given rise to opportunities that just were not possible even only a few years ago. I’m currently standing at the edge of a subway platform writing this post because I don’t have any other time today to finish this, but I’m doing it. And technology is enabling me to be able to, but it is also my mindset.

We often think that our past experiences have to determine our future success. We say that because this happened to us before, we can’t make something else better happen in the future. But that’s just not the case, if you believe it, you can do anything.

I only had about 20 seconds to spend with Gary this morning. He had well over 1000 people there trying to get selfies and their books signed. By the time he got to myself and my friend Marie, he probably had already talked to and taken over 650 photos with other people, signed over 1000 books, and the line didn’t end with us.

He must be exhausted today, but he did it. And he was super kind and interested in us when we got there. That’s something he definitely stresses in his businesses and his content; be kind and help others.

It’s the 51/49 principle. Give more than you receive. Of course you need to make money and have your own goals, but if you help others more than you help yourself, you will be successful.

So keep it up Gary. Keep inspiring others. Keep telling them they are capable of more than they think they are. And keep building awesome businesses yourself while you are at it. The world needs this right now and you have no idea how many lives you are going to change, but I know it’s going to be millions.

This was the warm up, 20 seconds isn’t enough. My next goal is to get a meeting with Gary and his team to show them Nomatyk Media Manager. I believe it will help his business and if I believe and have something of value for him, I can make it happen.

Go out there and follow your dreams, you won’t regret it.

--

--

Patrick Farrell
Creative Collisions

Founder and Business Coach for Online Entrepreneurs and Coaches. I help people create more freedom in their life and connect to their purpose.